Mel’s Commonwealth Cafe

My experience
Mel’s has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I don’t think there’s another been another restaurant that I’ve been going to for as long as this one. It’s a place that reminds me of my childhood. Despite all the changes in my life, Mel’s has remained the same.

Even though I’ve lived in Wayland my whole life, my surroundings and experiences have been constantly changing. As I’ve grown with age, I’ve gone to three different schools, starting with elementary school, then middle school and finally, high school. In 7th grade, I moved houses in Wayland, leaving behind memories of my childhood. It’s hard to return to all these places where I spent so much time of my life, but at Mel’s, this is possible.

When I was in first grade, I vividly remember going to the father-daughter breakfast with my dad and my older sister. I remember sitting in the small backroom surrounded by my friends from school and making new friendships as well. At that breakfast there was a children’s raffle, and the prizes were all sorts of fun toys. I remember hearing my number called out and winning a bright, colorful chalk set. Six year old me couldn’t be happier, and the joy I felt that day from the delicious food and warm atmosphere made me beg my dad to return each week. Those breakfasts allowed me to spend great times with my dad and my sister, which I can only say has positively contributed to my great relationships with them today.

Today, I still eat at Mel’s pretty often. What I love so much about it is that it hasn’t changed at all since I was a little kid. The menu, the decor and even the workers have been the same for as long as I can remember. Walking inside and seeing an abundance of familiar faces makes the Mel’s experience even that much better.

Soon, I am going to be spending most of my life outside the small bubble of Wayland. However, I can always count on Mel’s to bring me back to my youth.

History
Before Mel’s Commonwealth Cafe was known as “Mel’s”, back in 1958 when it was created, it was known as the Elmwood Donut Shop. Several years later, the small shop bought a grill and began selling more than just donuts; hamburgers and hot dogs were now being cooked. Eventually, the menu even further expanded, as the new diner began to be known for their breakfast items. The name “Mel’s” originates from the former founder of the restaurant, Mel Bloomstein.

Today’s use
Today, Mel’s legacy is lived on by his two sons, Paul and Stewart Bloomstein who now own the restaurant. This year marks the cafe’s 58th anniversary.

According to Paul, Mel’s is more than just a restaurant; it’s a landmark and a meeting place for friends, families and groups.

“I think there’s very good word of mouth and a good reputation, and we’ve developed a good reputation by providing consistent food, a nice atmosphere, friendly service and being family friendly,” Paul said.

For example, a political club and an antique car club meet at the cafe regularly. Members of the antique car club sit in a corner of the backroom every Saturday morning and discuss their passion for collecting antique cars. On Wednesday mornings, buffet-styled father-daughter and father-son breakfasts are held.

“We think that the kids have a very special experience with their dads, and that provides lasting memories with them, and it’s very special,” Paul said.

Paul attributes the restaurant’s success with its genuine care for customer satisfaction. According to him, the staff at Mel’s tries their best to interact with their guests and providing a nice atmosphere and friendly service.

“My dad always saw bigger things in the future. By listening to his customer base, he was able to bring that to life and grow with the changing times and changing demands of the customers needs and diets,” Paul said.

Outside of the diner, Mel’s serves to benefit the community as a whole. It supports the Wayland Schools, donates gift cards to local events and sponsors various fundraisers and charities.

In addition, the long history and of Mel’s and many of the long-working employees have also contributed to the restaurant’s success.

Paul said of the employees: “We have such a special staff here, and we consider them to be family. And we adhere to almost every need that they want.”

In the future, Mel’s hopes to keep the restaurant unique and exciting and always welcome families into the restaurant. Paul also believes that the restaurant is a legacy to his father.

“It’s a legacy to my dad, we’re very proud to keep the history of Mel’s and keep it running and keep it going,” Paul said.

IMG_6890IMG_6892IMG_6893IMG_6894IMG_6895IMG_6896IMG_6897IMG_6898IMG_6902

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I did not know the history of Mel’s, thanks for sharing it. I love Mel’s breakfast!!

    Like

Leave a comment